College Students




The CINC Foundation’s mission expresses the basic purpose of the organization and the reason for our existence:

The Council of Independent Nebraska Colleges Foundation exists to provide operating funds and scholarship support for students attending Nebraska’s independent institutions of excellence.

In January of 2018, the Council of Independent Nebraska Colleges Foundation was launched. The CINC Foundation brings together the strengths of two previous organizations, the Nebraska Independent College Foundation and the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Nebraska, which previously represented the independent higher education sector in the state for nearly 100 years. The new organization is a 501(c)(3).

The CINC Foundation’s initial membership includes 13 postsecondary institutions: Bellevue University, Bryan College of Health Sciences, Clarkson College, College of Saint Mary, Concordia University, Creighton University, Doane University, Hastings College, Midland University, Nebraska Methodist College, Nebraska Wesleyan University, Union College, and York College.

Like its members, the Foundation is dedicated to making excellent higher education opportunities accessible to students from diverse backgrounds and communities.


The CINC Foundation is lead through the efforts of a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of the member institution presidents/chief executive officers and corporate/community members. A focused Foundation staff coordinates the efforts of the board and its committees.

Treva Haugaard

Executive Director

Connie Nihsen

Executive Assistant



Dr. Bernard D. Bull - Concordia University

Dr. Deb Carlson - Nebraska Methodist College

Dr. Darrin Good - Nebraska Wesleyan University

Dr. Mary Hawkins - Bellevue University

Rev. Daniel Hendrickson,  S.J. - Creighton University 

Jody Horner - Midland University

Dr. Roger Hughes - Doane University

Dr. Richard Lloyd - Bryan College of Health Sciences

Dr. Richard Lloyd - Hastings College

Dr. Gary Pack - Clarkson College

Dr. Vinita Sauder - Union College

Dr. Samuel A. Smith - York College

Dr. Maryanne Stevens,  R.S.M. - College of Saint Mary


Mary E. Chase, Ed.D. (Creighton University) - Creighton University

Mark Christensen (Cline Williams Wright Johnson & Oldfather) - Doane University

John DeBoer (Midwest Laboratories - Retired) - Hastings College

Dr. Larry Dlugosh (Emilsson) - Bryan College of Health Sciences

Keith Edquist (North Omaha Airport) - Bellevue University 

Ed Finan (American National Bank) - Nebraska Methodist College

Kristie Holthus Holoch  (Cornerstone Bank) - York College

Kirk Jamison (Jamison Farms) - Concordia University 

Steve Joekel (Retired Public School Administrator) - Nebraska Wesleyan University

Randy Koski, CPA (Koski Professional Group, P.C.) - Midland University

Steve Ritzman (SR Consulting) - College of Saint Mary

Megan Wickless-Mulder (Clarkson College) - Clarkson College

TBA - Union College


Greg Andersen, Bailey Lauerman

Bradley Ekwerekwu, Learning Community of Douglas and Sarpy Counties

Bill Hargens, McGrath North

Greg Hohl, Wahoo State Bank

Dan Knight, Armored Knights

Kristi Nohavec, LEO A DALY

Adam Post, DLR Group

Carolyn Rooker, Siemens Smart Infrastructure

Monte Schatz, Vandenack Weaver


Gordon M. ‘Mac’ Hull, Tasty Toppings